Laurentian announces open tryouts

Haroun Mohamed (23) from the Laurentian Voyageurs handles the ball while Chris Poloniato of the Windsor Lancers tries to keep pace during OUA men's basketball action at the Ben Avery Gym in Sudbury, Ontario on Wednesday, February 19, 2020. Laurentian Athletics photo

Share Adjust Comment Print

The 2021-22 varsity sports season is drawing close and the Laurentian Voyageurs begin to hit the field on Sept. 4.

Open tryout dates for Laurentian students have been set for most of Laurentian’s teams.

Due to increased health and safety measures and recently announced vaccine mandates, those who are interested must reach out to their prospective coaches before attending a tryout.

Baseball

– Sept. 4, 7 a.m., LU track.

– Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Terry Fox No. 1.

Contact Coach Lariviere: mlariviere@laurentian.ca and Coach Smith: ksmith16@laurentian.ca by Sept. 3 at noon.

Men’s soccer

– Sept. 6, 8:30 a.m. and 4 p.m., LU soccer field.

Contact Coach Castrechino: ccastrechino@laurentian.ca by Sept. 3 at noon.

Women’s soccer

– Sept. 6, 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., LU soccer field.

– Sept. 7, 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., LU soccer field.

– Sept. 8, 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., LU soccer field.

– Sept. 9, 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., LU soccer field.

Contact Coach Ashton: bashton@laurentian.ca by  Sept. 3 at noon.

Cross-country

– Sept. 6, 4 p.m., LU stadium.

Contact Coach Jermyn before attending: dx_jermyn@laurentian.ca by Sept. 3 at noon.

Golf

– Sept. 9, Idylwylde Golf and Country Club — 36 holes – Tee times to be confirmed.

Contact Coach Palladino: vince@palladinoautogroup.com.

Rowing

Contact Coach Schweinbenz: aschweinbenz@laurentian.ca.

Men’s basketball

– Sept. 13, 7 p.m. to 8:15 p.m., Ben Avery Gym

Contact Coach Swords: sswords@laurentian.ca

Women’s basketball

– Sept. 13, 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., Ben Avery Gym.

Contact Coach Hurley: jhurley@laurentian.ca.

Indoor track

– Sept. 13, 5 p.m., LU stadium.

Contact Coach Jermyn before attending: dx_jermyn@laurentian.ca.

Curling

October

Contact Coach Lafraniere to register: rx_lafraniere@laurentian.ca.

Nordic skiing

Contact Coach Labrosse: er_labrosse@laurentian.ca.

Comments